Rhode Island Divorce, sometimes (like Tom Petty sang), “The Waiting Is The Hardest Part”

Once the decision is made to divorce in Rhode Island a party must then face the statutory requirements in proceeding with their RHODE ISLAND DIVORCE.  Each State in the United States has their own process for divorce.  Rhode Island requires at least one of the parties to be a domiciled inhabitant of Rhode Island for at least one year prior to the filing of the complaint for a RHODE ISLAND DIVORCE.  There are nuances in the law which allow for an earlier filing of a RHODE ISLAND DIVORCE FROM BED AND BOARD but generally the one year requirement is the norm.  Likewise, absent an emergency condition requiring Motions for Relief, there is also a 60 day waiting period after your RHODE ISLAND DIVORCE petition is filed before the matter can be heard.  Then, after your RHODE ISLAND DIVORCE is heard and the Court makes its ruling, there is a 90 day period before the divorce is final.


No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment